Periodic Table Tile Reflection

Periodic Table Tile Reflection

Recently as our work around the periodic table, our class has been creating a collaborative periodic table display for the end of term science fair. Each student got assigned one element from the table and had to learn about it in order to create a tile for it. I chose to create two, Xenon, my assigned element, and Neodymium, my extra element. The photos below are my finished tiles, and the reason for the things that are part of it.

For this tile, Xenon, I have included what it was named after, a greek word meaning ‘stranger,’ which is the reason for the shadow figure in the corner, to represent a stranger. I also added a car with headlights, as Xenon is used in the light. Flags, from London in which was where it was discovered. An injection needle, as it is used as a natural anesthesia. And lastly, some symbols at the top, to show that this element is odorless, colourless, and tasteless.

For my second tile, Neodymium, I have once again added the greek word it is named after, meaning ‘new twin,’ and a flag, this time for the country the chemist who discovered it came from, which was Austria. I also added a wind turbine, phone, magnet, and medicine, as they all use Neodymium. Finally, I added a toxic sign, as in some cases it can be highly toxic.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *